Wednesday, August 1, 2012

Provincial Capitol of Negros Oriental

The Provincial Capitol in Dumaguete was built in 1924.

Negros Island was originally called "Buglas". The Spaniards changed this to Negros because of the dark-skinned Negritos that live there.

The province was administered from Cebu until 1734, when it was made a military district of its own. In 1890, Negros Island was divided into two politico-military provinces, Occidental and Oriental.

Negros Oriental officially became a province under the American civil government on March 10, 1917.

In the 1970’s, when the Philippines was clustered into political regions under the regime of Martial Law President Ferdinand E. Marcos, Negros Occidental became part of Region VI, or Western Visayas, with Iloilo as its regional center while Negros Oriental was assigned to Region VII, or Central Visayas, with Cebu City as its regional center.

Today, Negros Oriental is divided into 5 cities and 20 municipalities, and was recently named as one of the best places in the world to live in.

Dumaguete City, the capital of Negros Oriental province, while a wonderful place to visit by itself, is also the perfect jump-off point to surrounding islands, towns, and cities. Whether it's dolphin and whale watching in Bais Bay, or diving in Apo Island, or climbing Mount Kanlaon, find it all in here! 




Post a Comment



Share Your Blessings

Popular Posts